Calendar

2019 (updated 9/19)

Sunday September 22, Fridley: Lush Country returns for a night in the Big Room at Crooners. Prudence Johnson, Gary Rue, Joe Savage, Peter Johnson, Gary Raynor, John Niemann and Dan. Country classics from the 1940s through 1960s. 6pm start.

Lush_003


Monday September 23, Fridley: With singer-songwriter Ann Reed and accordionist-chanteur-raconteur Dan Newton in the Dunsmore Room at Crooners. 730pm.

wannr-sap-2013


Tuesday September 24, St. Paul: A bit of F. Scott Fitzgerald-era piano on his birthday (and mine). A Celebration of Great Minnesota Writers to benefit Books For Africa, the Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library and Fitzgerald in Saint Paul. 7pm, the Commodore Bar & Restaurant.

ACelebrationofGreatMinnesotaWriters2-990000079e04513c


Thursday September 26, Fridley: Supporting player to the musical shenanigans of Dane Stauffer, in the Dunsmore Room at Crooners. 730pm $12-15

Stauffer Dane


Thursday October 3, St. Paul: Featured performer at the annual gala for Friends of the Mississippi River, along with Jearlyn Steele and NPR host and folklorist Nick Spitzer (American Routes). 530 – 830pm at A’bulae in Lowertown St. Paul.

steele-jearlyn.jpeg


Friday & Saturday October 4 & 5, Minneapolis: The annual Cabaret at St. Joan of Arc Catholic Community in S. Minneapolis. Over two dozen featured acts each night. 7pm start. Bring a seat cushion?

20 SJA cab


Sunday October 6, Fridley: The Birthday Club, a tuneful toast to the music anniversaries of the month. Guest TBD. 730pm in the Dunsmore Room at Crooners.


Monday October 7, Minneapolis: monthly community sing at the Danish American Center, 3030 W. River Parkway (at the Lake St. Bridge), 7pm, free.


Sunday October 13, Wayzata: Soloist on “Rhapsody in Blue” and more with the Wayzata Symphony Orchestra, in a program called Gershwin and the Roaring Twentysomethings. 3pm. Sharing the stage with conductor Marlene Pauley and soloist colleagues Maria Jette and Bradley Greenwald.

GershwinG young

Thursday – Sunday October 17-20, Cincinnati OH: Musical programs with Maria Jette as part of the 20th International Convention of the Wodehouse Society.


Monday October 21, St. Anthony Park: monthly community sing at Luther Seminary Olsen Student Center, co-hosted with Ann Reed. 7pm, free.



LOOKING AHEAD:

Sunday November 3, Fridley: An evening of Italian food and songs at Crooners Lounge and Supper Club with Prudence Johnson, Bradley Greenwald and Diana Grasselli.

Sunday November 10, Minneapolis: The annual All Souls Sing at the historic Lakewood Memorial Chapel, 330pm, free.

Monday November 11, Minneapolis: Chronofon and ’66: Talkin’ ‘Bout My Generation, back at the Dakota by popular demand.

Sunday November 17, Mahtomedi: Guest artist with VocalEssence in a concert of African-American spiritual music featuring Dr. André Thomas, orchestra and soloists. St. Andrew’s Lutheran, 4pm.

Wednesday November 20, Fridley: With Jearlyn Steele at Crooners Lounge and Supper Club, part of Jearlyn’s series called “The Pianist Knows Best.” 730pm.

Saturday November 23, Collegeville MN: At St. John’s University Stephen B. Humphrey Theater with Kevin Kling and Simone Perrin in Tales From the Charred Underbelly of the Yule LogPart of the SJU/CSB Fine Arts Series. 730pm.