Calendar

2017 (updated 10/16)

If you missed the statewide broadcasts of The War That Changed Us: Songs and Stories from WWI America, the two installments (part one from April 18, part two from April 19) are available for listening via the MPR News Presents webpage.

 

Tuesday October 17, Minneapolis: Monthly sing-along at Loring Park rec. center, corner of 14th and Willow. 7pm, free.

Friday and Saturday, October 20 and 21: Washington D.C. with Maria Jette for the International P.G. Wodehouse convention.

Friday and Saturday, October 27 and 28, Minneapolis: The annual colossal St. Joan of Arc Cabaret.

Sunday October 29, Mahtomedi: Crossing the aisle on a Sunday morning to play German folk music on the accordion at St. Andrew’s Lutheran Church for the big 500th anniversary observance of Reformation Sunday. Outside the Great Hall before the 8:45 and 10:30 services.

Sunday October 29, Minneapolis: Hosting the Birthday Club at Crooners Lounge and Supper Club, with special guest singer Judi Vinar. 6:30 – 8:30, reservations recommended.

Saturday November 4, Mahtomedi: A night of Gershwin classics with Prudence Johnson, on the Wildwood Artist Series, presented at the Chautauqua Fine Arts Center, adjacent to Mahtomedi High School. 7:30pm, tickets $25/20/15 (adult/senior/student).

Sunday November 5, Minneapolis: The 5th annual All Souls Sing-Along at Lakewood Cemetery chapel, hosted by Dan, Mary Preuss and Bret Hesla. 3pm – 4:30pm.

Thursday November 9, Minneapolis: Lush Country plays in the bar at Crooners Lounge, 8pm. Free, but advance reservations at $15/each highly recommended.

Saturday November 11 and Sunday November 12, St. Paul: The Soundtrack of the Vietnam War, a live presentation of music and readings at the Twin Cities Public Television (TPT) studios, downtown St. Paul.

Sunday November 12: In concert with Ann Reed at St. Joan of Arc Catholic Community, for the release of Ann’s new CD, Winter Springs, Summer Falls. 7pm.

Sunday November 19, Minneapolis: With the band at St. Joan of Arc Catholic Community, 9am and 11am. T Mychael Rambo, featured guest vocalist.

Sunday November 26, Minneapolis: Hosting the Birthday Club at Crooners Lounge and Supper Club, guest singer TBD. 6:30 – 8:30, reservations recommended.

Friday December 1, Minneapolis: Lush Country plays in the bar at Crooners Lounge, 8pm. Free, but advance reservations at $15/each highly recommended.

Sunday December 10, Minneapolis: With the band at St. Joan of Arc Catholic Community, 9am and 11am.

Monday December 11, Minneapolis: Tales from the Charred Underbelly of the Yule log with Kevin Kling, Simone Perrin and the Brass Messengers, a Holiday staple at the Guthrie Theater.

Friday December 15, Bloomington: Conducting the 5th annual KS95 “Clouds” Choir For a Cause event in the rotunda of the Mall of America. Hundreds join to sing “Clouds” to raise funds for children’s cancer research. With the Bloomington Civic Orchestra and members of the Twin Cities Community Gospel Choir. 6pm

Saturday December 16, Red Wing: Tales from the Charred Underbelly of the Yule log  travels to the historic Sheldon Theater, with Kevin Kling, Simone Perrin and more.

Sunday December 17, Minneapolis: O Christmas Three at St. Joan of Arc: Dan and fellow SJA bandleader/pianists George Maurer and Tommy Barbarella, back together by popular demand for another holiday hootenanny, featuring many special guests including Maria Jette, Julius Collins, Leslie Vincent, members of the Chouinard family and more.

Monday December 18, St. Anthony Park: Monthly sing-along, co-hosted by Ann Reed, at Luther Seminary Olsen Student Center. 7pm, free.

Tuesday December 19, Minneapolis: Monthly sing-along at Loring Park rec. center, corner of 14th and Willow. 7pm, free.